FUTURISTIC SILENCE


My two cents by Kish
March 9, 2010, 6:48 PM
Filed under: Choons | Tags: , , , , , ,

I remember when I was a kid and the Gorillaz reigned my music collection. They seduced me with all their ‘virtualnessness’ and Jamie Hewlett’s little ape creations used to run through my head day and night on repeat. I guess it was an improvement on all the B2K and Backstreet Boys I listened to. I was a little creeped out and confused by it, but i guess that was their allure.

Gorillaz – Clint Eastwood <-
what a great flashback.
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2961110/Gorillaz_-_Clint_Eastwood.mp3%20

Plastic Beach has been a long time coming. I had been thinking a lot about the Gorillaz lately, without the knowledge of any pending albums. In the process of  gearing up for 2mnaydjs on NYE and listening to one of their compilations, a sexy remix of ‘Dare’ appeared and memories just flooded back like a backed up loo being released after many years of being ignored.

Gorillaz – Dare (Soulwax Remix) <-
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2961110/16.%20gorillaz%20-%20dare%20%5Bsoulwax%20remix%5D.mp3%20

So, I am sure we have all taken a listen to Plastic Beach, and we’re all comparing it to their old work. Does it compare? On first glance, the tracklist looks like they took a few fancy ideas from David Guetta — all but 4 of the tracks are a collaboration. DON’T BE ALARMED. This is no Guetta-fail-a-thon and from what I can see, Akon isn’t on this album… this is an album full of really sweet tunes, all of which I cannot wait to fall in love with one by one.

And just before I return to paying attention to this boring lecture, I want to say how happy it makes me that Little Dragon is on this album (:

Gorillaz – Empire Ants feat. Little Dragon <-
this song has such an out-of-this-world feel to it. its so AMAZING
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2961110/07.Gorillaz%20-%20empire%20ants%20%28%20www.YaHandsUp.com%20%29.mp3%20

Gorillaz – Cloud of Unknowing feat. Bobby Womack <-
absolutely “wow”
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2961110/09%20Mommy%20Complex.mp3%20

Gorillaz – Glitter Freeze feat. Mark E. Smith <-
i really enjoy how this song sounds so disjointed and amateur for like a couple seconds, then BAM, it spluffs in your face for even considering it crappy
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2961110/08.Gorillaz%20-%20glitter%20freeze%20%28%20www.YaHandsUp.com%20%29.mp3%20

BUY LE ALBUM HERE


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

