FUTURISTIC SILENCE


Welcome back Crookers… I hope. by Kish

I know every blog and their dog has gotten onto the new Crookers choonage, but i decided to make a decent post out of it. When the Crookers first started out, i was truly amazed. Their sound was so different and was so addictive. I spent hours on the internet searching for morrrre. I was especially interested in some origianl material, but all I had to salivate over was their Dusty Kid remix for a while; which i must admit, still gets me going.

Dusty Kid – The Cat (Crookers Remix) <— that  buildup at 1:30 yeaaaaaaaah

Then they released that remix of the Salmon dance that everyone knows all too well. The ‘WoW’ generation was born. I saw the Chemical Brothers live in 2008 (p.s. they were wowowowowowow) Everyone was hanging out for the Crookers remix and most people talked about how their set was shit purely because they didn’t play the track. Idiots, the lot of them.

The Chemical Brothers – The Salmon Dance (Crookers WoW Remix)

There were a few awesome remixes after that, like their Don Rimini remix and their Azzido Da Bass ‘Bum’ Remix. I used to love how they named their remixes too. I was such a massive fan, and I didn’t care that all my musically learned friends thought I was an idiot for loving them. I remember distinctly the ‘fidget-hate’ movement beginning around then, and I couldn’t understand why. The Crookers were on fire, and their Essential Mix was NUTS!

Azzido Da Bass – Dooms Night (Crookers Bum Mix)


Then they released their shameful AC/DC Thunderstruck remix, that seriously made me gag. What were Phra and Bot thinking? I think those dudes had run out of ideas, inspiration and coke money, because I couldn’t understand how they could release something so terrible. Especially their recycling of the wow-age, blerrrrrrr. I wrote it off as a simple mistake and gave them a second chance. I was wrong.

My epic Crookers hate had been born and i didn’t see any relief coming anytime soon. They kept disappointing me, with stupid new original tracks that really were bad imitations of other tracks they had released. What the fuck were these dudes doing!?

In a twist of fate and a result of bad drugs, I ended up at the stage the Crookers were playing at at Stereosonic in December 09. Despite them playing that god awful Thunderstruck remix, I cannot even begin to tell you how much of a grrrrrrreat time I had. See, I thought ‘We Love Animals‘ was just a fluke, as well as one of those ‘if you collaborate with Soulwax and Mixhell and manage to produce a shit song, you’re the fucking the devil incarnate.’

Crookers ft Soulwax & Mixhell – We Love Animals

But I have a feeling, 2010 is the return of the Crookers and in a BIG way. They’re working with awesome people, and seem to be moving in a totally different direction. I can’t wait to be a proud fan once again!

Crookers – Remedy (Feat. Miike Snow)

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

There’s good info here. I did a search on the topic and found most people will agree with your blog. Keep up the good work mate!

Comment by MrBarns




Leave a Reply

