FUTURISTIC SILENCE


You win some, you lose some by Kish
December 6, 2009, 10:58 AM
Filed under: Festivals | Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Stereosoniq was off chops. The day didn’t at all go as planned: festivals never do. So many acts to see, so little sobriety to lead you in the right direction. I caught Chicane, Axwell, The Bloody Beetroots, Crookers and the end of Drop The Lime. I spent a lot of time lying on the grass and chillin (breh) at the Rocket stage which were just live bands.

For starters, I pretty much revel in the fact that I hate The Bloody Beetroots and the Crookers. I had the most fun at their sets. 

Chicane was kind of boring except for a couple of sweet moments.

Axwell is the most adorable Swede ever “fuck yeaaaaaaaah Melborrrn!” haha, but the sound was so bad!! I wasn’t even that far from the stage. Axwell dropped in some Daft Punk which always makes me happy, and I saw a few lonely pyramid hand symbols haha.

♫ Daft Punk – Aerodynamic

The Axwell set bummed me out so we went in search of Laurent Garnier, but bad pills and pre-Sunday spills meant that we whirlwinded right into Surkin, who was going nuts! Shattered I missed most of his set, but Axwell was priority numero uno.


Then the Crookers came on and played one sweet upbeat set, with choon after choon. I missed Deadmau5 but heard he was shit anyway. Crookers were quality. They even played Mr Oizo. No, it wasn’t one of their gay ‘wow’ remixes either – it was the real thing. My hat goes off to you Crookelinos for gaining my respect.

♫ Mr Oizo – Cut Dick

♫ Proxy – Dancing in the Dark (Dub Refix) it was weird to hear them drop this mix of it, but it totally fit into their set.


All in all a pretty sweet night with a few bad turns, but you got to take the bad with the good right? Festivals are always slightly disappointing though, because you never get to see ALL the acts you want.

P.s. if anyone saw Laurent Garnier’s set ANYWHERE, please indulge me and make me sickly jealous.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

